Digital and Analog Storytelling

The entire history of human expression, slightly abridged

“Buy stock in Google, Halliburton, and NORAD.”

Between one fern

Between one fern

This took about 30 minutes, mostly because Windows Live MovieMaker–which occasionally hates exporting the things that I make–was working properly. I did the video–no script or anything, it’s not a big deal–and I posted it, no problem, but the volume was really low. I think I was editing with my earphones on, which gave an unrealistic sense of how loud the final video would be. So I went back into the draft I had saved in WLMM, upped the volume, and uploaded it.

Here’s the video:

I’m excited to spend some time focusing on movie-making techniques this semester. This video was completed for DS106’s Daily Create #362, but I really feel like I could use a refresher on lighting, camera angles, and also creating depth and movement (looking forward to spending time with Jan Roberts-Breslin’s Making Media, an industry standard text for students). I tried to make the lighting interesting, stronger on the right side, creating a more intense contrast to, hopefully, make a video of a paper bag feel new(er than it would otherwise).

All of which begs the question: Does Bagman need his own Tumblr?

4 comments on ““Buy stock in Google, Halliburton, and NORAD.”

  1. jenpr
    January 8, 2013

    Between one fern. Ha! Also, I absolutely think Bagman should have a tumblr page.

  2. Mary
    January 8, 2013

    Hilarious! “KEEP…not talking to strangers” had me literally laughing out loud.

  3. Mary
    January 8, 2013

    Oh, Bagman certainly needs his own everything. Especially Tumblr.

    • B Short
      January 8, 2013

      Thanks Mary! It’s in the pipeline…

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 4, 2013 by in dailycreate, ds106, video and tagged , , , .
