Digital and Analog Storytelling

The entire history of human expression, slightly abridged

The two-headed Edtech Ettin: A D&D remix

Edtech ettin

I’m pretty sure it was Alan Levine who said, “Be the change you want to see in the world.”

So, instead of complaining about the lack of D&D monsters in D&D monster assignments, I went ahead and made one featuring tech innovators and experts Ben Rimes and Brian Bennett, both of whom did DS106 Monstrous Manual assignments featuring either non-D&D elements or non-2nd ed. Advanced Dungeons and Dragons monsters (which, as everyone knows, is the only real edition, with first edition basically being a Bunker Hill with biblical-sounding demon names, and third and fourth edition being the domain of role playing gamers much younger and, therefore, less sophisticated than moi.

To make this, I took a screenshot of the PDF of the Ettin monster from the 2nd edition Monstrous Compendium Volume 2 (which I just happened to have sitting around in digital form), loaded it into the photoshop, scrubbed out the Ettin’s head and replaced some of the text (Book Antiqua is the typeface, which looks like a better fit up top than in the body of the description). Then, I needed the new heads.

Next, I downloaded shots of Ben and Brian from their websites (can I call you Ben and Brian?), loaded them into Gimp and used SCRIPT-FU>QUICK SKETCH to make the heads look more like the Monstrous Compendium drawing. Then, I ported those into Photoshop, used quick select to get just the heads and placed them where the Ettin’s heads used to be before I whited them out. I had to sketch in a few lines to make them look more like they were actually emerging from the Ettin’s necks, which looks cheesy close up, but the picture is pretty large overall, and I think I mostly get away with it.

Wouldn’t you kill to watch this thing do a keynote at the “Monsters and the Web: Grotesque 2.0” conference? Dude.

8 comments on “The two-headed Edtech Ettin: A D&D remix

  1. Test comment

  2. Jim Groom
    May 29, 2013

    Again, did I mention you were killing it? Wow, Brian and Ben didn’t even comment eyt because they haven’t yet realized who rules this class with a huge club—and I only need one head. K12 AMATEURS!!!

    • B Short
      May 30, 2013

      Thanks for the love, rev. In their defense, the k12ers blew me up on twitter, and my blog ate at least two of Ben’s comments, probably because it has +2 save vs. illusions.

    • Ben Rimes
      May 30, 2013

      The comments were there, just step a little bit closer towards the large iron kettle on the fire and I’ll show you.

  3. Ben Rimes
    May 30, 2013

    You can be all the change in the world, my friend, it’s still not going to stop the awesome portability and approachability of Magic! I cast the curse of the Chaos Orb (Beta Edition) upon you and your house!

    Seriously though man, this is awesome! Besides the creepy feeling of being permanently stuck to someone, I shudder to think of the poor creatures that stumble across our “Four-eyes” attack 🙂

    Hoping this doesn’t turn into the 3rd comment to be devoured by the Ettin’

    • B Short
      May 30, 2013

      It made it!!!!!!!

      Also, double four eyes attack is totally vicious, esp. Against ants and dry leaves.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 29, 2013 by in design, ds106, Uncategorized and tagged , , , .
