Digital and Analog Storytelling

The entire history of human expression, slightly abridged

Another gif poster for “Time Enough at Last”

Time-enough-2

Encouraged thoroughly by Dr. Garcia’s enthusiasm for last night’s gif poster and inspired by the awesome work going on over at Bowties and Skulls, I went ahead and re-giffed B&T’s “Gif to Fig” project.

First I took of screen shot of the fig in action:

Time enough frame

 

Then I just painted over it in photoshop, using the colors from Adobe Kuler’s Base 17 color scheme, I painted in the books and B-Murge and the clock.

Originally, I was just going to make it a simple minimalist poster. But then, I decided, what the heck, let’s gif it.

First I used a gaussian blur on all of the layers in the project except B-Murge and the clock.

Then, I painted in the crack lines on another layer, a layer behind B-Murge so that it is his view of the world and not his awareness of himself–or his acute awareness of time–that has been messed with.

I also had the minute hand on the clock click forward a little, to show how everything can change in an instant, one of the powerful themes from this episode of The Twilight Zone.

I have to say, I love how this turned out. Psyched. Every time I make a project for DS106zone, it just makes me want to go make another project for DS106zone.

5thdimension4life.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8 comments on “Another gif poster for “Time Enough at Last”

  1. GNA
    June 2, 2013

    This gif is bad to the bone in a new wave kinda style. I dig the color scheme it is institutional. Wonder if the dude as you depicted him is related to Max Headroom? Max Headroom was definitely in and of The Twilight Zone.

    There’s something magical and deeply moving about making art inspired by an interaction-connection with one person. It’s fleeting, but wholly personal. I liken the feeling to being tickled (or pinched, depending on how anguished I’m feeling) by a muse. And I like it.

    • B Short
      June 2, 2013

      Oh hell yeah. Ephemerality (it’s a word now) is probably connected to the power that sharing art can have. The only other option (is it?) is to make an institution out of it. Who wants that.

  2. Kara Saffos
    June 2, 2013

    Wow, this turned out really awesome. Your art gave it a really creepy vibe.

    • B Short
      June 2, 2013

      Hey thanks Kara! Creepy in a good way, yeah? As soon as I remembered the blur effect, I felt like a total champ.

  3. Christina Hendricks
    June 2, 2013

    Really nicely done! I love the touch of moving the minute hand forwards, and the blur is genius! I didn’t know about the blur effect. I keep learning so much stuff from what others are doing, which I LOVE! Thanks for this–love it.

    • B Short
      June 3, 2013

      Hey thanks Christina! Appreciate it. Keep up the great work over at your blog!

  4. Jim Groom
    June 3, 2013

    I love the simple, methodic animation that seems to capture for me life after the cracked classes. The slow, daunting creep of time for the blind man in a broken world.

    • B Short
      June 3, 2013

      Hey, thanks man. I wanted to make it so it was just him and the clock at the end.

      I once met a guy who used to read all the time but then, changing a lightbulb, a flake of metal got into his eye. He didn’t see a doctor about it for awhile and it wound up screwing up his vision just enough that reading was no longer pleasurable. After I heard that story, I had nightmares about it for a few weeks.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 2, 2013 by in design, ds106 and tagged , , , .
