Digital and Analog Storytelling

The entire history of human expression, slightly abridged

“That moonglow gave me you”

“That moonglow gave me you…”

Man, this was fun to make.

First I grabbed the audio from the Twilight Zone episode “It’s a Good Life,” just the last 8 minutes or so.

Then, I grabbed a couple of my favorite quotes to move around.

Then, I went onto Soundcloud, looking for a version of “Moonglow,” the song that Pat Riley plays in the episode, and I found this great version by the Canal Street Syncopators.

Then, I imported both of the files into Audacity and started putting the quotes around.

One of my favorite parts are Anthony’s first lines about not talking while the music is playing. That’s where there’s a change in the song–is that the bridge?–and having Anthony come in then feels really creepy and menacing. All of the lines before that are from townspeople trying to cover up how nervous they are, and this is the first real moment of menace that we get in the song.

My second favorite part is at the end. First, there’s Ethel saying “Happy birthday, darling” (IT WAS DON’S BIRTHDAY! GAAAAHHHHHH!). Then, the lyrics from the song, “That moonglow gave me you,” which makes me think about Anthony’s parents and how they must have been in love and then they had a baby and then it murdered people and exiled the corpses to the cornfield.

“It must have been moonglow….”

7 comments on ““That moonglow gave me you”

  1. This is fantastic. I love how you mixed the entire theme of the song with the pivotal parts of the episode. I wonder if Serling intentionally used that song for the subtle connection between the episode dialogue and the lyrics.

    • B Short
      June 5, 2013

      I know, I didn’t associate a lot of special meaning with the song until I went looking for it and listened to a dozen different versions of it. The song has lyrics, but the lyrics aren’t in the show, and that absence feels important, although what the audience is supposed to make of it is left up to them.

      Here’s Billie Holiday’s version, which I think is the most famous– http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5jyJIenGbp0

  2. Pingback: Kanye Is Due on Maple Street | Digital and Analog Storytelling

  3. Pingback: ds106zone LoDown 018 (talking smack with Jim Groom) | bavatuesdays

  4. Pingback: ds106zone LoDown (by Jim Groom) » scottlo radio blog

  5. Christina Hendricks
    June 11, 2013

    Hi Brian:

    I love this so much. Excellent.

    So much, in fact, that I used it in a commercial I created for ds106, which can be heard here, and in our upcoming radio play (done by some of the open online students in the ds106zone–almost, almost done editing): https://soundcloud.com/clhendricksbc/ds106commercial

    I also wanted to double check that it’s okay to use “moonglow” in this way, because on Soundcloud that file isn’t CC-licensed, which, I think, means I can’t actually use it like I did w/o permission. I should have asked before making the commercial, and I’ll take the commercial off of Soundcloud and out of the radio play if needed!

    So do let me know, one way or the other.

    • B Short
      June 12, 2013

      Totally fine, sorry, I’ll change the permissions.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 4, 2013 by in audio, ds106 and tagged , , , , .
