Digital and Analog Storytelling

The entire history of human expression, slightly abridged

Kanye Is Due on Maple Street

Kanye Is Due on Maple Street from Brian Short on Vimeo.

*

After I made my last audio piece for the DS106 Zone, an audio piece that remixed snippets from the Twilight Zone episode “It’s a Good Life” and a version of the song “Moonglow,” which is featured in the episode, I decided that I wanted to do more with that idea of juxtaposing T-Zone content with other media.

I originally considered just doing another audio piece with audio pulled from the scene, and I even started a piece that was that, using Kanye’s “Monster” and the T-Zone episode “The Monsters Are Due on Maple Street.”

But I didn’t like how it sounded, which felt like another, less interesting version of what I had made with “Moonglow.”

So, I went back to the drawing board, and I decided that making a music video would be more fun.

I used Adobe Premiere to make the video, being careful to make the cuts match the music as much as possible. For edits that need to match music, Windows Movie Maker just doesn’t cut it, yo. I needed to bring out the big guns.

This took awhile. It took half an hour or forty minutes to get the first draft down, which was three minutes and change, and the video footage went all the way through the Jay-Z verse of the song. The final version posted to Vimeo is almost a full minute shorter, and only features the intro, the first chorus, the first verse, and the second chorus. Sorry Jay-Z and Nicki.

Only after I edited the piece did I notice how the editing in the original editing grows really frenetic toward the end. The episode is filled with closeups, portrait shots of various neighbors talking, looking confused and disappointed. At the end the camera tilts, showing how the world has come unmoored, the normal rules are out the window.

This is such a great episode.

Now I just need to figure out some project to do for “Walking Distance.”

2 comments on “Kanye Is Due on Maple Street

  1. You did both TZ and Ye justice with this mash-up.

    • B Short
      June 6, 2013

      Thanks, B&S. Also, calling him ‘Ye’? Genius.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 5, 2013 by in ds106, video and tagged , , , , .
